PICS Denials in Wellersburg, PA
Can I get a License to Carry Firearms (Concealed Carry License) in Pennsylvania
Even if you can legally own a gun, you still might not be able to get a License to Carry Firearms (concealed carry license) in Pennsylvania. For example, even very minor drug offenses can render you ineligible for a License to Carry Firearms in Pennsylvania. Under 18 Pa.C.S. § 6109, if you have been convicted of any offense under the Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act you are ineligible for a License to Carry Firearms. That means that if you have been convicted of even a minor drug crime in Pennsylvania, such as possession of a small amount of marijuana or possession of drug paraphernalia, you can’t get a License to Carry Firearms even if your conviction is very old. This is true even if you pleaded guilty and only paid a small fine. If there is a chance you may have been convicted of misdemeanor drug crime in Pennsylvania, you should not apply for a License to Carry Firearms without a firearms eligibility investigation.
Can I apply for a Wellersburg, PA Pardon in Pennsylvania by myself?
Certainly. But if you are serious about your pardon, you may want the assistance of an attorney who is experienced with the pardon process rather than trying to “learn as you go” as you do it for the first time. We pride ourselves on knowing what it takes to bring the absolute best out of our clients to help us portray the true person you have become to the Board of Pardons during this important opportunity for a second chance. We know the ins and outs of the pardon process helping us make a stressful experience as smooth as possible for our clients. Many of our clients are too busy with their own careers, businesses and families to spend a bunch of time trying to figure out a brand new process. There is so much on the line during the pardon process, such as your future, your family, your career, and your rights. It makes sense why our clients would rather trust a professional with a wealth of experience.
What to do after a PICS Denial or Undetermined Status in Wellersburg, PA
After a PICS Denial or Undetermined Status, it is very important to contact a firearms attorney as soon as possible. This is because there are very strict deadlines in place, and neither the dealer nor the Sheriff will be able to inform you of the reason for denial. DO NOT TRY TO CONTACT THE POLICE TO FIND OUT WHY, BECAUSE ANYTHING YOU SAY CAN BE USED AGAINST YOU IN CRIMINAL COURT. Make sure to keep good notes about the date and location of the denial and the name of the dealer or Sheriff’s Office. If you are denied a License to Carry Firearms (concealed carry license) due to a PICS Denial or Undetermined Status, the Sheriff must send written notice of the denial by certified mail. Make sure you do not lose that letter. You only have 30 days after a PICS denial or undetermined status to file a PICS Challenge. If you don’t file your PICS Challenge within 30 days, you cannot have it overturned. It is VERY IMPORTANT that you do not try to file a PICS Challenge unless you are absolutely certain that you are not prohibited from possessing firearms and are willing to face a felony and jail time if you are wrong. When you file the challenge, you will once again certify that the information you provide is subject to the penalty of a felony of the third degree and a misdemeanor of the third degree. Many people try to purchase a firearm and have no idea that something in their past makes them prohibited. An experienced firearms attorney will be able to ask you the right questions, gather the necessary documents and information and determine whether you are even eligible to own and possess firearms (or get a License to Carry Firearms) before submitting a PICS Challenge on your behalf. Because there is a 30-day deadline, it is very important to act fast, because 30 days is a very short amount of time to conduct the necessary investigation.
Wellersburg, PA PICS Denials
What to do when a PICS check gets denied
Should I try to buy a gun to see if I can legally own guns in Pennsylvania?
You should ABSOLUTELY NOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES try to buy a gun to see if you can legally own or possess firearms. In Pennsylvania, you can be charged with a felony if you are prohibited. Many people have made this costly mistake over the years. Even if a police officer or a gun store employee tells you otherwise, they would certainly not be willing or able to pay your legal fees and serve your criminal penalties in your place if you are prosecuted.
How can I find out if I can legally own a gun in Pennsylvania?
When you buy a gun in Wellersburg, PA, the dealer must run a background check called a PICS Check (Pennsylvania Instant Check System). You can only run a PICS Check in connection with a transfer or if you are applying for a License to Carry Firearms (concealed carry license). When you are filling out the paperwork to buy a gun or apply for a License to Carry Firearms (concealed carry license) you should NEVER GUESS for any of your answers. If you fail the background check (PICS denial) when you are trying to buy a gun in Pennsylvania, you could face criminal prosecution for a felony! Even if you thought you answered the questions correctly, many people are still prosecuted for their mistake. At The Gun Law Firm, we have performed firearms eligibility investigations for our clients since 2016 to avoid this problem. We thoroughly review our clients’ criminal records, mental health records, and much more to determine whether you can legally own a gun in Pennsylvania.